Kovan Baldwin Mpls R&B Artist

Kovan Baldwin is 23 years old and one of the next R&B artists to emerge from our city, Minneapolis Minnesota. Though Baldwin was originally born in Seattle Washington he is proud to call the TC his home. “My goal is to hopefully get my city behind me which is hard to do especially being different…” said Baldwin, and his uniqueness is easily identifiable, even after just brief conversation.

As you may quickly group Baldwin into a group of young people here in the Twin Cities who are only on their music hustle, Baldwin truly does stand out, as “artist” is not the only title behind his name. Baldwin has taken another big step as a young African American male, as he is also able to brag his accomplishment as a college-graduate, an achievement that belongs to approximately 8% of Black men in the United States. With success laid out for his future in many different areas, Baldwin himself is very humble. “As an artist I want to build my community up and help out the youth and really be a positive role model. Never be too big to help someone.” Baldwin is constantly setting himself apart not only as a person, but also as an artist, even when it comes to other music within his genre. “Everything is centered around sex, money drugs and what your worth is on what you’re rocking…I want to reach and touch the world with my voice and stay positive and be a light to the whole world. Fame is nice but that’s not what means it to me. I have a message and won’t be denied.”

Listening to Baldwin you will hear romantic beats, sweet vocals, and sincere lyrics. “I like long walks on Calhoun and candlelight…” Baldwin jokingly comments. But you’ll never hear anything over- provocative. Baldwin describes his own music as “…R&B, with a kick of Pop and Soul,” influenced by some of his favorite artists including Michael Jackson and Usher, “[I] just love their art and how their music paints a picture. It touches my soul, I want to do that and have that impact on others as well.” The many opportunities Baldwin has walked into as a result of his work is definitely allowing him to do just that.

With past opportunities to do shows with artists such as Lenny Williams and Pleasure P., Baldwin’s music career continues to excel. “I try and perform as much as possible. I don’t have a booking agent or manager so whatever opportunity arises I go for it. I love the Fine Line Café and performed at First Ave in Minneapolis.” Said Baldwin, “I’m supposed to be performing Sept 3rd, 2012 at the grand stand for the Wiz Khalifa concert which will be huge.”

Baldwin is truly on his way to big things with his accomplishment as an artist and also a graduate from Augsburg University with a major in Broadcast and Journalism. Make sure you check out his music including his first single “Call Me.”

“Believe in yourself and never stop until the mission is complete.  Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t …who are they?” -Kovan Baldwin

MORE OF KOVAN BALDWIN

Official Website: iamkovan.com

Twitter: @kbmusic3

Music: reverbnation.com/kovanofficial

Article Written By: Tiffany Trawick

Comments

  1. KELLY MARIE DICKENS says:

    THIS ARTIST IS ABSOLUTLY AMAZING AND HAS THE QUALITY SOUNS LYRICS AND SKILLS I LOOK FOR IN THE POWER OF MY MUSIC.AMAZING AND SOLD IN A 3 SECOND HEARTBEAT.AMAZING.POINT BLANK,

  2. Love It…Get It Babe…:)

  3. I can’t wait to see the video.

  4. Amazing sound. Very unique artist. Very refreshing stance on life….

Leave a Reply

